Lawyer of the Year Awards 2012

Who’s Who Legal is delighted to announce the Lawyer of the Year Awards 2012, celebrating the foremost leaders in their fields. We have compiled the nominations of thousands of clients and private practitioners from over 100 countries to decide on the most highly regarded experts across 31 commercial practice areas.

The award winners received more votes than any other lawyer in their chapter. This year, we include a new practice area, commercial mediation and Tony Willis of Brick Court Chambers is our inaugural lawyer of the year. He is recognised as “one of the forefathers” according to peers. Three lawyers enjoy the rare accolade of being eight time award winners, demonstrating outstanding merit in their fields: Theodore Garrett of Covington & Burling LLP in the area of environment law; Gary Horlick of his own firm in trade and customs and Philip Zeidman of DLA Piper LLP in relation to franchise. Each lawyer has won the award every year since its inception in 2005.

The 2012 award winners can be viewed here

Congratulations to the award winners of 2012.

Back to top

Follow us on LinkedIn

News & Features

Community News



Pro Bono

Corporate Counsel

Women in Law

Future Leaders

Research Reports

Practice Areas


The Who's Who Legal 100


Special Reports



About Us

Research Schedule

It is not possible to buy entry into any Who's Who Legal publication

Nominees have been selected based upon comprehensive, independent survey work with both general counsel and private practice lawyers worldwide. Only specialists who have met independent international research criteria are listed.

Copyright © 2018 Law Business Research Ltd. All rights reserved. |

87 Lancaster Road, London, W11 1QQ, UK | Tel: +44 20 7908 1180 / Fax: +44 207 229 6910 |

Law Business Research Ltd

87 Lancaster Road, London
W11 1QQ, UK